NHL/Thurgood Marshall Scholarship winners named

Press Release Four ‘Hockey Is For Everyone’ students selected for annual academic award NEW YORK/TORONTO – The National Hockey League (NHL) and Thurgood Marshall College Fund today announced the four recipients chosen for the NHL/Thurgood Marshall College Fund academic scholarship.
"Our Hockey Is For Everyone program helps young people combine athletic accomplishment with academic excellence, while our collaboration with the Thurgood Marshall College Fund creates the opportunity to reach greater heights of educational achievement," NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman said.
This year’s NHL/Thurgood Marshall College Fund Scholarship recipients are: Musa Ibrahim, Ice Hockey in Harlem.
Ibrahim, a defenseman, credits his start in hockey to his mother who signed him up.
A graduating senior at the Harvey School in Westchester, NY, he hopes to attend Temple University, majoring in film studies, with plans to become a documentary filmmaker.
Since 2003, Hockey in New Jersey has inspired youth to develop life skills, succeed academically, and create positive relationships through hockey.
Jaylin Muse, Snider Hockey.
Rosa, whose favorite position is right wing, started playing hockey at a young age.
Rosa plans to study business management.
Since 2010, Capital City Crew has provided an opportunity for youth ages 8-14 to play ice hockey, giving them the opportunity to reach their full potential on the ice and in the community.

Learn More