Maryland men’s lacrosse team ends 42-year drought, wins NCAA title

— The Maryland men’s lacrosse team’s 42-year national championship drought ended at approximately 3:16 p.m. on Monday afternoon, with the Terrapins celebrating their 9-6 title game win over Ohio State with a mosh pit in the south end zone of Gillette Stadium.
The Terrapins’ win marked a sweep for the school – the Maryland women’s lacrosse team won a national championship on Sunday, clinching their third title in four seasons.
Junior midfielder Tim Rotanz scored three goals and senior attack Dylan Maltz added two for the Terrapins, who used suffocating defense to cause two Ohio State scoring droughts that lasted more than a quarter.
Dylan Maltz also scored against an Ohio State short stick early in the second quarter, and DiMillo followed up with his second goal off an assist from Rambo that pushed the lead to 5-2 with 9:43 remaining in the first half.
The Terrapins then killed an extra-man opportunity for Ohio State on the ensuing possession, and although they didn’t score on their own extra-man chance later in the quarter, they did enough defensively to go into the locker room with a three-goal lead at halftime.
Rotanz scored his second goal of the day off a backdoor cut, finishing off a feed from Maltz to make it 6-3 with 5:30 left in the third quarter.
Maltz scored his second goal of the game at a crucial point, giving Maryland a 7-3 lead with 13:04 remaining, which came after yet another patient, deliberate possession.
Ohio State pulled within 8-5 after freshman Trey LeClaire beat Maryland goalie Dan Morris low with five minutes remaining.
But after Ohio State retained possession on the ensuing faceoff and had a chance to pull within one goal, Morris came up with a crucial save on a laser of a shot by LeClaire.

Learn More